Search Inductees
Induction Year
Induction Category
Athlete Builders
Special Award


2008 Inductees
Colonels 73-74





North-Am Jaycees Tournament Winner 
NCAIH Champions and Playoff Winners
Provincial Intermediate B Champions

Fifth-generation Wetaskiwin Colonels Hockey Club
(click for larger picture with names)

The new Wetaskiwin Civic Centre, with artificial ice, opened in September, 1962. Prior to the opening, a number of former Colonels played major roles in the formation of the North Central Alberta Intermediate Hockey League and in the re-organization of the fifth-generation Wetaskiwin Colonels Hockey Club.  Len Roberts served as the League Commissioner. Earl Baker, Ralph Pocock, Charlie Baker, Ted Hampsink and others led the revived club during the first years.

The Wetaskiwin Colonels were one of six teams to compete within the NCAIHL between 1962 and 1976. The Colonels teams of that era were talented, well-coached and competitive. Many of the players had played minor hockey in Wetaskiwin. Most worked and resided within the community. During those years, the Colonels won four League Championships, two Provincial C Championships and two Provincial B Championships.

Colonels dominated play and led in most categories - to win eight titles

Of all teams to play during that era, it was the 1973-74 Wetaskiwin Colonels Team which had the greatest success. Their few losses that year came at the beginning of the season due to injuries to key players. With the return of the injured players to the line-up, the Colonels dominated play and led in most categories. They went on to win eight titles.

The FIVE TEAM and THREE PLAYERS' titles included:

  • Winners of the four-team North-Am Jaycees Tournament.  The Colonels goaltender was selected Most Valuable Player of the Tournament.

  • First overall in league play with 21 wins and 9 losses. The team was awarded the CJOI Trophy. Goals Scored with 175 was the highest in the League. (Goals Allowed with 132 was third best in the League.)

  • League Scoring: Four Colonels were among the Top Ten in league scoring placing first, second, sixth and seventh, one player tied for most goals and one player earned the most assists.

  • NCAIH League Champions: the Colonels won the semi-finals vs. Ponoka Stampeders in a two game, total goals series, 5 to 3.  Then they won the finals vs. the Camrose Maroons in a best of 7 game series, 4 games to 1 and were awarded the Newsome Trophy.

  • Provincial Intermediate B Championships: all series were home and home, total goals. The Colonels won each series and played the Killam Indians, Leduc Oilers, Banff Bisons and finally the Westlock Eagles.

The NCAIH League ended play after the 1975-76 season. The Colonels continued to play in the Alberta Major Intermediate Hockey League for the next two seasons. Retirements, injuries, and the inability to field a complete and competitive team resulted in the decision to cease play and operations in February 1978.

With that, the era of the Wetaskiwin Colonels, which dated back to the 1935-36 season, came to an abrupt end.  Throughout the years, there had been several exceptionally talented and competitive Colonels teams. No Colonels team, however, matched the successes of the 1973-74 Wetaskiwin Colonels.

Members of the team

Coach: Ron Emmerling Ken Grimm Andy Crenshaw
Captain: Jerry Greene Ed Stein Ron Stephanson
Assistant Captain: Ross MacEachern Gary Soucy Ray Boisvert
Assistant Captain: John Shillabeer Doug Walin Jim Grayson
Harold Maciborski Ron Huolt Rick Norman
Assistant Coach: Roy Romaniuk Martin Taje Ken Sterzer
General Manager: Pat Barry Ken Berger Brian McDonald
Equipment Manager: Clarence Jevne    
Trainer: Les Nelson    
Secretary-Treasurer: Frank Lockhart    
League Rep: Bill Mojelski    
Club Room Boy: Lindsay Robertson  

The Colonels





All Rights Reserved 2011, 2015, 2017
Wetaskiwin and County Sports Hall of Fame
Box 7123, Wetaskiwin, Alberta, T9A 2Y9
Photo Credits - Nominations