Search Inductees
Induction Year
Induction Category
Athlete Builders
Special Award


2018 Inductees
Jerry Bremner
Rod Fonteyne
Al Clemmer
2006  Sabres Football




League Champions
Provincial Champions
12 Wins, 0 Losses

The Wetaskiwin Composite High School Sabres football program dates back to 1953.  Over the decades there have been some powerful and successful teams. From 1954 to 1958 the Sabres had a run of five consecutive league championships, and from 1975 to 2006, the Sabres teams won 10 league championships.  To date, the 2006 WCHS Sabres Football team is the most successful WCHS football team.  This football team not only won the league championship but became the first and only WCHS football team to win the Provincial Championship.  The 2006 Sabre’s season was perfect with a 12-0 win-loss record.  Besides being champions the fellows on this team were dedicated and hardworking athletes.  They showed commitment, leadership, mental and physical toughness.  They were great ambassadors of Wetaskiwin.  Their accomplishments and attributes make the members of this team worthy of induction into the Wetaskiwin and County Sports Hall of Fame.

Wetaskiwin Composite High School 2006 Sabres Football Team
(Click to enlarge photos and view names of players)

Unbeatable 2006 WCHS Sabres Football Team is
Most Successful WCHS Football Team.

The 2006 Sabres played six league games in the Central Alberta High School Football League that was comprised of nine teams.  In 2005 the Sabres had lost in the league finals and the Provincial semi-finals, and among the returning coaches and players, the sting of the season-ending defeats carried over into the 2006 season.  They pledged to complete “Unfinished Business”, and this phrase became the team’s slogan during the 2006 season.  The first game of the season was held on Sept 8th. Before the game there was a ceremony to “Turn on the Lights at Norm Brown Field”.  The lights were installed with money provided by a Community Facility Enhancement Provincial Grant and are a wonderful asset to the city and the WCHS football program.   The Sabres won the game 40-10 over the visiting Lacombe Rams, and it was the start of and set the tone for a dominating year for the Sabres.

The Pledge to Complete “Unfinished Business”
Results in Overwhelming Victories

During the 2006 season, the Sabres performed in a powerhouse manner.  They won every regular season game overwhelming their opposition by scoring an average of 44.7 points per game and limiting scoring against them to an unbelievable average of 6.7 points per game.  The Sabres led the league in all categories: offence, defence, and special teams.  They had the highest average and totals on offence in rushing, pass receiving, and pass completion.  The stats for points against shows the strength of the defence.

In the league semi-final the Sabres defeated the Stettler Wildcats 21-7, and in the league finals against the H.J. Cody Sylvan Lake Lakers the Sabres won 43-14.  Led by the offence and very strong play by the defence, the Sabres dominated the game after the first quarter.  It was a satisfying victory to defeat the team which had defeated them the year previous.

Playing at Norm Brown Field in the Alberta Schools Athletic Association (ASAA) Tier III Provincial quarter-final, the Sabres won over the St. Paul Regional Lions of the Wheatland League 37-0.  In the semi-final game played at Foote Field at the U of A against the Holy Trinity Trojans of the Metro Edmonton League, the Sabres were victorious with a 31-7 win.

Sabres Capture First Provincial Championships

The Provincial Finals saw the Sabres pitted against the Cochrane Cobras.  Prior to 2006, the Cobras were four-time consecutive Tier III Alberta Champions and formidable opponents. The final was played on an icy, snow covered Norm Brown Field. With minutes left in the fourth quarter the score was tied 8 to 8.  The Sabre’s quarterback changed the play call sent by Head Coach Don Loov and instead called and completed a 40-yard pass/run play for the go-ahead touchdown. The successful convert kick made the score 15-8.  After the kick-off, the Cobras were not able to advance the ball and had to punt.  In the 70 seconds left to play, there were some very dramatic moments followed with time-outs after plays.  After the last time-out the play call by the Sabres was to “run back into our end zone, use up as much of the clock as possible and concede a safety”.  A successful execution made the score 15-10.  After receiving the kick-off, the Cobras had 15 seconds to attempt two plays.  Both were stopped by the Sabres defence.  Final score was Sabres 15 and Cobras 10, and the Sabres became Provincial Champions.  With the undefeated season the Sabres removed the “Un” letters in their season-long slogan to read “Finished Business”.

2006 Sabres "Finished Business"

Nine Sabres were named CAHSFL All-Stars and Head Coach Don Loov was awarded the Tier III Coach of the Year honours at the 44th Annual Football Alberta Coaches’ Clinic and Awards.  Eight Sabres were invited to try-outs for the All-Star team for Football Alberta’s Senior Bowl North Team, and three made the North All-Star Team.  Two of the Sabres seniors from the 2006 team played Junior and University Football.  Several of the players from the 2006 team assisted with coaching Wetaskiwin Minor Football after their WCHS football career.

The 2006 team record was an incredible achievement and very deserving of recognition.  These young men left a legacy that WCHS teams continue to strive to emulate. They are certainly role models for young Wetaskiwin athletes, and it is a pleasure to induct them into the Wetaskiwin and County Sports Hall of Fame.

Team Members: Adam Bogaerts, Charles Bouchard, Daniel Branco, Edward Brozny, Shane Cardinal, Brendon Carlson, Matthew Comeau, Michael Comeau, Neil Doty, Brett Edlund, Justin Franklin, Ryan Gillis, Jonathan Goofers, Thomas Hutchings, Dustin Hutchinson, Jay Johnson, Jared Jorstad, Kolton Kasur, Nathan Knull, Matt Lalande, James Lloyd, Andrew Lonsdale, Jason Lonsdale, Justin Lund, Richard Maher, Connor Mahoney, Wesley Moningka, Jimmy Niwa, Tayler Ostapowich, Kenton Paul, Nathan Rain, Brendan Ross, Michael Ruttan, Ryan Shantz, Steven Shaw,  Darby Soop, Justin Sudsbear, Andrew Triffo, Jordan Turney, Kody Vaudry, Tommy Whitebear,  Joshua Woitt, Brandon Zerebeski

Coaches: Don Loov, Kevin Gibson, Rob Cross, James Fuss, Curtis Huculak, Colin Loov, Shane Sudsbear
Trainers: Bruce Heggerud, Charlene Hutchinson
Managers:  Laura Mahoney, Brian Paul 
Pictures:  Dorothy Reich

Read this team's acceptance speech.




© All Rights Reserved 2011, 2015, 2017
Wetaskiwin and County Sports Hall of Fame
Box 7123, Wetaskiwin, Alberta, T9A 2Y9
Photo Credits - Nominations